Student Prizes

Awarded at the Honors Banquet, May 7, 2023

The Woods Chandler Memorial Prize, for the best composition in a larger form written during the year. Awarded to Julián Fueyo.

The Phyllis Curtin Career Entry Prize, to assist in launching the career of a graduating voice student who demonstrates exceptional talent as an artist and promise for a professional career. Awarded to Sergio Martinez.

The Smriti Deb Memorial Prize, to an outstanding graduating singer who best reflects and exemplifies the ideals and values of Smriti Deb and her commitment to teaching low-income and under-represented children. Awarded to Korin Thomas-Smith.

The Broadus Erle Prize, to outstanding violinists in the School of Music. Awarded to Evan Johnson, Amy Oh, Joe Skerik, and Allen Liang.

The Friedmann Thesis Prize, for a D.M.A. thesis notable for its distinguished research, original perspective, in-depth engagement with its subject, and well-crafted presentation. Awarded to Alexa Stier.

The Rena Greenwald Memorial Prize, for the best piano composition written during the year. Awarded to Lila Meretzky.

The Charles Ives Prize, to an outstanding organ major. Awarded to David Preston.

The John Day Jackson Prize, for outstanding chamber music compositions written for strings, with or without other instruments. Awarded to Aaron Levin.

The David L. Kasdon Memorial Prize, to an outstanding singer in the School of Music. Awarded to Sam Kidd.

The Frances E. Osborne Kellogg Memorial Prize, for the best composition written in a contrapuntal style. Awarded to Matīss Čudars.

The Ezra Laderman Prize, for the best compositions written for musical theater or voice. Awarded to Harriet Steinke.

The Charles S. Miller Prize, to a gifted pianist who has done outstanding work during the first year of study. Awarded to Derek Wang.

The Malcolm L. Mitchell and Donald M. Roberts, Class of 1957 Prize, to the outstanding graduating teaching artist in the Music in Schools Initiative. Awarded to Katherine (Kit) Cheng.

The Philip F. Nelson Prize, for a student whose musicianship is outstanding and who demonstrates curiosity, talent, and an entrepreneurial spirit in the many dimensions of the music profession. Awarded to Nikki Pet.

The Thomas Daniel Nyfenger Memorial Prize, to a student who has demonstrated the highest standard of excellence in woodwind playing. Awarded to Lloyd Van’t Hoff.

The Aldo Parisot Prize, to gifted cellists who show promise for a concert career. Awarded to Jakob Taylor and Allen Liang.

The Elizabeth Parisot Prize, to an outstanding pianist in the School of Music. Awarded to Elizabeth Tsai and Hyojin Shin.

The Plank Music Residency, established by the estate of Raymond Plank, B.A. 1944, is awarded to two students for distinguished achievement in their major. Each will complete a two-week residency of independent work in the extraordinary setting of the Ucross Foundation in Wyoming. Awarded to Samuel Hollister and Anna Lee.

Presser Foundation Music Award, to advance the music education of an outstanding returning student. Awarded to Emma Meinrenken.

The Robert Shaw Prize, given in honor of the renowned American choral conductor, is awarded to a choral conducting major in the School of Music chosen for distinguished achievement by the choral conducting faculty. Awarded to Yiran Zhao.

The Julia R. Sherman Memorial Prize, for excellence in organ playing. Awarded to Noah Klein.

The John Swallow Prize, to an outstanding brass player whose artistry and dedication have contributed to the department. Awarded to Declan Wilcox.

The Yale School of Music Alumni Association Prize, to students who have not only excelled in their respective fields but have also made important contributions to the general life of the School. Awarded to Elena Bell, Jack Frerer, Herdis Guðmundsdóttir, Derek Hartman, Carter Johnson, Gregory Lewis, Makana Medeiros, Anthony Ratinov, Ryan Rogers, Andrew Samarasekara, Harriet Steinke, and Michael Yeung.

Awarded at Commencement, May 22, 2023

The Dean’s Prize, the School’s highest excellence award, given to a member of the graduating class who is selected by the Dean in consultation with the faculty. Awarded to Bridget Conley.

The Harriet Gibbs Fox Memorial Prize, awarded to a first-year student who has achieved the highest grade-point average. Awarded to Chelsea Strayer.

The Horatio Parker Memorial Prize, awarded to a returning student who is selected by the faculty as best fulfilling Dean Parker’s lofty musical ideals. Awarded to Arsenii Gusev.