Prizes, 2019–2020

The ASCAP Cole Porter Prize is awarded to students of Yale School of Drama for excellence in writing. Awarded to Noah Asa Diaz.

The Edward C. Cole Memorial Award is sponsored by the Technical Design and Production Class of 1983 to commemorate the contributions of Edward C. Cole to the profession of technical theater. The recipients of this award, selected by their classmates in the graduating class of the Technical Design and Production department, best exemplify the ingenuity, creativity, craftsmanship, and dedication to the art of theater that are the hallmarks of the theater technician. Awarded to Irene Yaro Yarashevich.

The Carol Finch Dye Prize, funded by Charles Finch in memory of his sister Carol Finch Dye ’59, is awarded to a graduating Acting student in recognition of artistry and commitment. Awarded to Ciara Monique McMillian.

The John W. Gassner Memorial Prize is awarded for the best critical essay, article, or review by a student published in, or submitted to, Theater magazine. Awarded to Rebecca Ann Adelsheim.

The Bert Gruver Memorial Prize is awarded to students of Yale School of Drama for excellence in stage management. Awarded to Samantha Tirrell.

The Allen M. and Hildred L. Harvey Prize, established by Jean L. Harvey to recognize superior work and writing by Technical Design and Production students, is awarded to the student author of the best article in Technical Brief and/or the best Technical Design and Production research thesis. Awarded to Rosalie Bochansky.

The Morris J. Kaplan Prize is given to the third-year theater management student who most exhibits the integrity, commitment, and selfless dedication to high standards in the profession of nonprofit theater management that characterized Morris Kaplan’s twenty-year career as founding counsel to the League of Resident Theaters. Awarded to Caitlin Elizabeth Volz.

The Julian Milton Kaufman Memorial Prize, established by Lily P. Kaufman in memory of her husband, Julian Kaufman, a 1954 alumnus of the Directing department who, through teaching at the secondary and university levels, touched the lives of countless young people, is awarded to a graduating directing student who has demonstrated talent in the chosen field of endeavor. Awarded to Logan Ellis.

The Jay Keene and Jean Griffin-Keene Prize is awarded to a student of Yale School of Drama who is studying costume design. Awarded to Stephanie Julie Bahniuk.

The Leo Lerman Graduate Fellowship in Design, given by friends of the late Mr. Lerman and the Samuel I. Newhouse Foundation, Inc., is awarded to students of costume design for the purpose of enabling them to study internationally upon their graduation from Yale School of Drama. Awarded to April Monique Hickman.

The Dexter Wood Luke Memorial Prize, established by Jane Kaczmarek ’82, is awarded to third-year students whose sense of curiosity and sense of joy have enriched the lives of their colleagues at Yale School of Drama. Awarded to Laurie Eileen Ortega-Murphy.

The Donald and Zorka Oenslager Travel Fellowship, established in 1996 through an estate gift from Zorka Oenslager, is awarded to design students who wish to study internationally upon graduation. Awarded to Elsa Rinde GibsonBraden and Alexander Lawrence Bertrand McCargar.

The Pierre-André Salim Prize is awarded to third-year students whose artistry, professionalism, collaborative energy, and commitment to the community have inspired their colleagues, and who show distinct promise of raising the standard of practice in the field. Awarded to Zachry Jason Bailey.

The Bronislaw (Ben) Sammler Mentorship Award, established by the Class of 2000, honors graduating Technical Design and Production students who, through action, attitude, or inspiration, have motivated their fellow classmates. The honorees are selected by the first- and second-year Technical Design and Production students. Awarded to Irene Yaro Yarashevich.

The Frieda Shaw, Dr. Diana Mason OBE, and Denise Suttor Prize for Sound Design is awarded to graduating students in Sound Design to recognize distinctive breadth of achievement, artistry, and leadership. Awarded to Liam David Bellman-Sharpe.

The Oliver Thorndike Acting Award, established by Mrs. Nathaniel S. Simpkins, Jr., and supplemented by gifts from her son, Nathaniel Simpkins III, in memory of Oliver Thorndike Simpkins, whose stage name was Oliver Thorndike, is awarded annually to actors at Yale School of Drama who best exemplify the spirit of fellowship, cooperation, and devotion to the theater that characterized Mr. Thorndike. Awarded to John Evans Reese IV.

The George C. White Prize is awarded annually to a graduating student at Yale School of Drama whose work at YSD most closely demonstrates the distinctive qualities of George C. White, including appreciation for the value of arts throughout the world, curiosity about the people and events shaping our cultural heritage, respect for creative production management, and congeniality toward colleagues. Awarded to Danielle Lynette Barlow.

The Herschel Williams Prize, established by Mr. Williams, who was a member of the first class accepted in Drama at Yale, is awarded to acting students with outstanding ability. Awarded to Brandon Edward Burton.